Talking Sandwich

Orange Juice.

There’s no particular name for this character so let’s call him the Talking Sandwich, cause that’s what he is a talking sandwich. The commercial opens with a teen opening a fridge and began to sneeze. The sandwich then says the word Orange Juice. The kid didn’t understand what he meant by it, so the sandwich explains to him that every time he hears someone sneeze he says orange juice because the drink helps fight off colds if you keep you fluids up. The kid then says “Why couldn’t we get a dog?”, but the sandwich heard his comment upon the fridge door closing. The commercial closes with the logo for Florida Oranges. I never once heard anyone talk about this character so he’s more than perfect to be on this blog. I even found a little background on the sandwich. It turns out the sandwich was created by the Character Shop company. That’s right the same people behind the animatronic animals for the Budweiser Frog commercials. The sandwich itself is a radio controlled animatronic with foam latex bread and silicone lettuce, ham, tomato, cheese, olive and pimento replicas. The commercial was directed by Bob Rice, who might have an IMDB credit but his is unconfirmed, so I supplied a link below for you to figure out which is the real Bob Rice. It’s less complicated than knowing which Jim Johnson is a voice actor when there’s more than 40 of them. The one thing that did slip my mind whenever I watch this commercial is according to the kid, they own a talking sandwich as a pet hinting his “Why couldn’t we get a dog” quote. My opinion is it’s cooler to own a talking sandwich than owning a dog. Unless the sandwich reminds you to keep drinking orange juice to fight off colds, which could annoy certain people. To this day I still think of the Talking Sandwich every time I drink orange juice. I was lucky to find a commercial of it on youtube for all of you to enjoy. For next week, I’ll be doing a subject on a 70s toy line called the Shogun Warriors.

Update Mar. 31, 2012: Apparently there’s a second commercial consisting of the dad talking to the sandwich. Enjoy the commercial below.

references:

http://www.imdb.com/find?s=all&q=bob+rice – Bob Rice list

http://www.character-shop.com/cmerclfx.html

Posted on November 24, 2011, in Advertise of the Week and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Simply want to say your article is as amazing. The clarity on your submit is just spectacular and that i can suppose you are knowledgeable on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grasp your feed to keep up to date with impending post. Thank you one million and please continue the gratifying work.

  2. I really enjoy looking through on this site, it holds great content .

  3. I have to express some appreciation to the writer just for rescuing me from this particular setting. After exploring throughout the world-wide-web and coming across techniques which were not beneficial, I thought my life was over. Living without the presence of solutions to the difficulties you’ve resolved through your entire site is a crucial case, and ones that could have adversely affected my career if I had not come across your blog. Your primary mastery and kindness in touching a lot of things was tremendous. I’m not sure what I would have done if I hadn’t come upon such a stuff like this. I’m able to now look ahead to my future. Thank you very much for this expert and results-oriented help. I won’t think twice to suggest your web sites to any person who will need recommendations on this area.

Leave a Reply

